Loving K-dramas: First K-drama

Disclaimer: I found a new outlet to release my seemingly infinite love with Korean Dramas. I guess this phenomenon will always remain in my heart until the end. I got all the ideas in a 30-day challenge I found in tumblr. However,  I won’t be able to update everyday so I’ll just do it whenever I got time.

So, here it is!

~

I’ve discovered K-drama at a young age since local channels aired a lot of dubbed korean dramas back then and most of it became a hit (eg. Full House, Lovers in Paris, Endless Love, Stairway to Heaven, etc.). I remembered binge-watching Lovers in Paris together with my older sister who’ve bought an original DVD copy. At that time, I just want to be with my sister who was just home once a week. But upon watching the episodes, I grew fond of the story line and got interested with the plot and its trajectory. I was quite satisfied watching it though I was never really captured to the point of addiction. I guess Lovers in Paris might be considered as the first ever Korean drama (not dubbed) that I’ve watched.

images

But if you’re gonna talk about my first-ever Korean drama that catapulted to my love for it, I’m gonna say Boys Over Flowers started it all.

(I was quite contemplating if it was My Girl or Boys Over Flowers but I’ll just have to stick with Boys Over Flowers)

26_BoysOverFlowers_Nowplay_Small

I consider Hana Yori Dango, the original manga which is written by Yoko Kamio, as a huge success. It had three different adaptations and an anime as well. It was one of the original story line who tweaked a Cinderella story and make it a modern-tale classic of a damsel-in-distress and a prince falling in love with each other. What and how was the twist made? The prince is handsome and rich but an ultimate jerk who doesn’t care if he hurt other people as long as he can unleash the sorrow and anger he’s feeling inside. The damsel-in-distress was really not a damsel-in-distress for she knows how to fight back and has the sense of justice to defend herself and others especially if they are being trampled on just because of their social status in life. The hero is feeling empty, but thank God for he have real friends who are there for him and can understand his arrogance and childish demeanor. And did I mention? The other three friends are all handsome and rich as well with their own issues in life. Thus, a phenomenon group was born. Who doesn’t know F4, right?

The Japanese adaptation was my personal favorite out of all adaptations. But Boys Over Flowers was the reason I slowly jumped from Jdoramas to K-dramas without even realizing it. I did had a high expectations with Boys Over Flowers since the first two adaptations were highly successful. I enjoyed the characters’ journey of this version but I guess I will have a lifelong issue with the actress who portrayed Geum Jan Di.

All F4 members are oozing with sex appeal and Lee Min Ho was my first ever Korean husband. Tee hee. He was the first actor I fell in love with, and got obsessed with, so I am thankful that this version cast Lee Min Ho as the korean Domyouji.

Boys Over Flowers was like a hole that I jumped in and landed me to more Korean dramas that I never really thought I’m gonna enjoy. It was even more fascinating to dig through all the dramas because of friends who are as addicted as me and even recommended me the good ones.

A hobby that started eight years ago is still fully alive and kicking. And even though K-dramas have changed over time, with noble idiocy and truck of doom and amnesia as a popular conflict to keep the drama going, I will always be enchanted on how overused plots can always create an addiction to all the drama viewers. Another thing is that drama gods never lacked with what’s to offer as new plots are being presented to a growing Kdrama fandom. Hello there, time-travel, aliens, sci-fi, action, mystery, hero that can hear people’s thoughts and even the future!

Cheers to more of what K-drama has to offer! Cheers to more Oppas that dramas will offer! So for those who are as in love as me when it comes to dramas, cheers for more noble idiocy and other cliches that might ensue as we get farther and deeper to what K-dramas has instilled to its addicted viewers!

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

